

# **Forty Third Annual Meeting**

# **Pennsylvania State University**

University of Nevada, Las Vegas University of Iowa University of Georgia

June 1<sup>st</sup> and 2<sup>nd</sup>, 2018

Sponsor:



### **Executive Board Officers**

President	Paul Dreyer
Executive Director	Michael Curry
Vice President	George Reuter
Treasurer	Linda Berman
Secretary	Anchala Sobrin

#### **Executive Board Members**

Director of TechnologyBarbara ChaoDirector of Power ContestMicah FogelIRML Co-ChairDon BarryIRML Co-ChairQuan Lam

## Site Chairpersons

Pennsylvania State University University of Iowa University of Nevada, Las Vegas University of Georgia Jason Mutford Steve Condie Matthew Schneider Don Slater

### **Scoring Room Chairpersons**

Pennsylvania State University University of Iowa University of Nevada, Las Vegas University of Georgia Martin Badoian\Kevin Meyers Isaac Greenspan Barbara Chao Chuck Garner

# **Authors' Committee**

Lead Author: George Reuter. Lead Editor: Chris Jeuell. Evan Chen, Paul Dreyer, Edward Early, Zuming Feng, Zachary Franco, Silas Johnson, Paul J. Karafiol, Winston Luo, Jason Mutford, Andy Niedermaier, Graham Rosby, Eric Wepsic

# Head Grader

Benji Fisher

#### Judge

Don Barry

# **Moderator**

John Schneider\George Reuter

ARML would like to thank all of the volunteers, proctors, scorers, and power question graders for your time and effort. ARML could not happen without you. Special thanks to John Farris and the staff from Penn State for their help in running this event.

#### **ARML** would like to thank its supporters:

- AlphaStar Academy American Mathematical Society Crowdmark John Wiley & Sons, Inc. Mu Alpha Theta Penguin Group USA Princeton University Press Star League WIRIS Wolfram Research
- http://alphastar.academy http://ams.org http://crowdmark.com http://wiley.com http://mualphatheta.org http://us.penguingroup.com http://press.princeton.edu http://starleague.us http://wiris.com http://wolfram.com

#### About our sponsor, the D. E. Shaw group

**The D. E. Shaw group** is a global investment and technology development firm with an international reputation for financial innovation and technological leadership. Headquartered in New York, the D. E. Shaw group encompasses a number of closely related entities with more than 1,000 employees and approximately \$32 billion in investment and committed capital. Our activities range from deployment of investment strategies based on mathematical models or human expertise to the acquisition of existing companies and the financing or development of new ones.

The firm employs a disproportionate number of the world's leading computer scientists and mathematicians, many of whom joined the firm directly from leading college and university math and science programs, and a number of whom are former ARML competitors. Given the challenges of its work, the firm has a particular interest in promoting excellence in mathematics. For this reason, the D. E. Shaw group is especially proud of its years-long association with ARML and of its current sponsorship of the national competition.

ARML would like to express special thanks to the D. E. Shaw group for their generous donation and sponsorship of our competition.

#### Friday June 1<sup>nd</sup>, 2018

	<i>y</i> =	
On Arrival	Registration ~ Findlay-Johnson Commons or Waring Commons	
	IMPORTANT! See email to all coaches sent on May 26, 2018 for	
	housing assignment.	
8:00 – 9:15 PM	"Aperiodic Sequence-Like Tilings"	
	Sarah-Marie Belcastro Location: Thomas 100	
8:00 – 9:30PM	Coaches' Meeting –	
	Forest Resources Building Room 112	
8:15 – 9:15PM	Proctors' Meeting	
	Forest Resources Building Room 107	
	*Each team is <u>required</u> to send one coach to the Coaches' Meeting.	
	and all of their first time proctors to the Proctors' Meeting. <u>At least</u>	
	one Coach/Adult should be at each meeting.	
9:30 PM	ARML Team Song Contest and Student Reception (Karaoke)	
	Waring Commons/West Halls. Refreshments will be served.	
11:00 PM	Students must be in Residence Halls	
Midnight	Curfew – All participants in assigned rooms	

#### Saturday, June 2<sup>rd</sup>, 2017

Sucul adj, Sunc = ,	
6:00 – 7:30 AM	Breakfast – Bryce Jordan Center – Gate A
8:00 – 8:20 AM	Team Round – Assigned Rooms
8:25 – 9:25 AM	Power Question – Assigned Rooms
10:00 – 11:30 AM	Individual Questions – Bryce Jordan Center
12:00 – 1:30 PM	Lunch – Bryce Jordan Center
1:45 – 2:20 PM	Relay Questions – Bryce Jordan Center
2:20 – 2:40 PM	Individual Tie Breaker – Bryce Jordan Center
3:00 – 4:30 PM	Awards Assembly – Bryce Jordan Center

#### **Awards Program**

- 1. Individual High Scorers of the Meet
- 2. Song Contest Winner Performance (If time permits)
- 3. Harry and Ruth Ruderman Award for the ARML Power Contest
- 4. Awards for ARML Local Contest
- 5. The Alfred Kalfus Founder's Award
- 6. The Samuel Greitzer Distinguished Coach Award
- 7. The Douglas Baker Memorial Award
- 8. Division B: 7<sup>th</sup> through 1<sup>st</sup> place (D. E. Shaw group plaque)
- 9. Division A: 9<sup>th</sup> through 1<sup>st</sup> place (D. E. Shaw group plaque)